10.3 C
September 28, 2020

Urs Mubarak – Silsila-e-Bishkuti

Urs Mubarak – Silsila-e-Bishkuti Naqshbandiya Mujaddidiya Aliyya Hazrat Shah Sufi Mawlana Muhammad Abdullah Rahmatullahi Alayhi by Motiur Rahman Hazraz Shah Sufi Abdullah Bishkuti (rah), died around the early part of the last century CE (circa. 1914), a person of aristocratic origin, born in Sylhet, Bangladesh, had left his home country to go on as a wandering dervish after an incident involving the deliverance of justice after a local dispute that took place.

After many years of search for a spiritual master Shah Abdullah had finally arrived at the door of the renowned sufi master of the time, Hazrat Gulam Salmani (rah). Shah Abdullah says of Gulam Salmani (rah) that if anyone wanted to see the personality of the Prophet (S.A.W) during this age then he should look at Hazrat Gulam Salmani, in his book Miratus Suluk, which is an indispensable book for those who want understand and travel on the path (tarika). In his travels and the quest for the perfect master, he says there is no one of the likes of Hazrat Gulam Salmani.

Hazrat Gulam Salmani was the disciple of Hazrat Noor Muhammad Nizampuri (rah) of the Mujaddidiya silsila which passes through spiritual lineage of Shah Waliullah Dehlawi (rah) and Syed Ahmed Shahid Berelwi (rah). Hazrat Gulam Salmani once said of Shah Abdullah that, “son, you are Habibullah” (meaning the beloved of Allah). Shah Abdullah mentions about his master who used to say, “Listen carefully, maybe one day you will understand, that prophethood has been sealed but waliyat (sainthood) has remained.” In his book, Miratus Suluk- which is said to be available in the languages of Parsi, Urdu and now recently in Bengali, – details out the 24 stages of the traveller in the Naqshbandi path.

He has given clues and directions, and at times detailed descriptions of the stages one encounters and the experiences one has. It is a rare and exceptional kitab, such a valuable resource in modern times on the subject of Sufism, indeed it is quite unique in its own way. Excerpts from Miratus Suluk “Our fountainhead of this Tarika-e-Aliyya is piran-e-pir dastogir, maqbul-e-elahi, mahbub-e-subhani, imam-at-tarikat, hadiye-millat, mawlana murshiduna shaykhul mashayekh Hazrat Ahmad Faruk Sirhindhi Mujaddidi alf-thani (rah) nawwarullahu marqadahu. He has taken the three tarikas of Qadriya, Chistia and Naqshbandia and out of them has expressed this tarika”.

You should know that this tarika is founded on the following three principles: awareness of the heart – known as waquf qalbi preserving (utilizing) time – known as waquf zamani keeping account – known as waquf adadi Those who are new to the tarika it is proper for them to be habituated to the above-mentioned principles. First of all, with all care, one must immerse his latifas with zikr. After the zikr of his six latifas one must embark on the nafi-isbath zikr.

In this tarika of ours one must complete 1500 times of nafi-isbath zikr, and then embark on the zikr of arba ansir – that is aab, atesh, khak, baad (air, fire, earth and water) – start concentrating on these four latifas.” “There are few necessities for the new travellers on the path: sincere intention belief in self and wishing well of others obedience to shaykh completing wazifa (daily recitations) to be in the state of remembrance all the time”

Waquf Qalbi means same as the pas-e-anpas of other tarikas. …always be on the waquf of the heart.

The zikr (remembrance) Allah, Allah, not by the tongue and the heart, but only with the heart paying attention with the mind. This Prophet (s.a.w) called this as zikr-e-khamil. Or khafi inside khafi. In this tarika of ours there is no such thing as zikr bil zahir even if it is allowed in other tarikas.

That is why people from other tarikas cannot come near our adherents and cannot harm us. Waquf Adadi means what the master orders the disciple to complete the numbers of eg the zikr azkar or darud sharif. The disciple must keep completing them. Waquf Zamani means whatever time the master has instructed the disciple to spend on whatever task.

For every zikr and every task there are different niyats (intentions that are read). One must learn it from his sheikh.

Related posts

Chain of Naqshbandiyya Mujaddidiya Aailya Silsila-e-Bishkuti

Motiur Rahman

Sirri ’al-Qadr

Qur’anic Hermeneutics: Al Ghazali and Ibn Rushd

Leave a Comment